Van.Artist: Tomiko Van
Release Date: December 10, 1008
Label: Avex Trax
Personal Rating: 4.5/5

1. Flower
2. Utopia
3. manacles
4. Brave
5. Yumeji
6. carry out
7. Senkou
8. message.
9. Tokyo Biyori
10. Refrain
11. Van.
Flower, Brave, Yumeji, Senkou, message., and Tokyo Biyori were all highly rated in their perspective singles. (Why did they have to add both the A-side and B-side of Tokyo Biyori?)

Utopia was a really stand out song for a second track! The overwhelming synch totally contrasted the electric guitar which is only heard for a small segment of the song and the combination of catchy and simple made the song even more memorable.

Another jazz oriented track was manacles, which had a similar style of the tracks from Farewell but even better. You could hear that Van’s vocals have improved since her last Jazz oriented track and had a great combination of the piano and the acoustic guitar.

carry out sounded really upbeat and… chaotic. Not in a bad way though, there’s just so much electric guitar, extremely loud synchs and blaring vocals that just makes the song on of a kind on the album. (Kind of reminded me of the style back at Do as Infinity.)

Refrain was totally phenomenal! There was so much development and epic factors weaved within the song, making it the most stand out song of the album! Although the arrangement and vocals were pretty slow, it still stood out with beautiful vocals and excellent chorus.

Van. still came out pretty strong even though it was just an instrumental track. The feel of the song sounded very graceful and relaxing which made an excellent ending to the album. Now that Do as Infinity is about to be reunited, looks like Van. marks the end of her solo career.

Personal Rating: 4.5/5


Tokyo Biyori

Tokyo BiyoriArtist: Tomiko Van
Release Date: June 18, 2008
Label: Avex Trax
Personal Rating: 3.5/5

1. Tokyo Biyori
2. message.
3. Hum a Tune
4. Tokyo Biyori (Instrumental)
5. message. (Instrumental)
Tokyo Biyori contains many acoustic elements such as the acoustic guitar and the light drums. The calm atmosphere was a plus but there just wasn’t any build-up or development throughout the song which made it a bit boring to listen to after a while. I’ll give her credit for the nice vocals, though.

I always love it when artists give their try at composing their own song. message. is pretty upbeat and appealing to listen to since she pretty much personalized the usual pop genre with her own manipulations with the arrangement. Unlike most people, I thought this was one of the best songs in this single.

Yes, another cover song. Hum a Tune (original version sung by ORIGINAL LOVE) was nothing out of the ordinary. Sure it’s an okay song but I wasn’t blown away with it like her last cover since it doesn’t totally sound different from the original singer.

Personal Rating: 3.5/5


YumejiArtist: Tomiko Van
Release Date: November 29, 2006
Label: Avex Trax
Personal Rating: 5/5

1. Yumeji
2. labyrinth
3. Yumeji (instrumental)
4. labyrinth (instrumental)
Yumeji is definitely A-side material! The whole arrangement itself is powerful and the vocals aren’t overpowered by them! There’s also a variety of elements such as light beats, piano and strings that support Tomiko’s soothing vocals. The instrumental version is also worth a listen! I just love how the song becomes more powerful near the end!

labyrinth also knows how to please listeners as it’s rock-oriented and makes a great addition to the single. Both great and catchy to the ears!

If I were to choose between the two songs, the choice would be difficult!

Personal Rating: 5/5


SenkoArtist: Tomiko Van
Release Date: September 27, 2006
Label: Avex Trax
Personal Rating: 5/5

1. Senko
2. Mosaic
3. Senko (instrumental)
4. Mosaic (instrumental)
Personally, I thought that Senko was one of the best rock ballads that Van has ever sang. It even beats the ballads back in her Do as Infinity days! The emotions that Van puts into the song was flawless and the electric guitar riffs really matched with the vocals! The overall mood of the song was supposed to be sorrowful and it exceeded the standard!

Mosaic makes a nice contrast with the A-side since it gives out that pop-ish sound that we’re used to hearing and the mood lifts up to the happier side of things. The instrumentals were a nice listen for the most part.

Personal Rating: 5/5


FlowerArtist: (Tomiko) Van
Release Date: June 7, 2006
Label: Avex Trax
Personal Rating: 4/5

1. Flower
2. Brave
3. Flower (Instrumental)
4. Brave (Instrumental)
Flower has a completely fresh arrangement compared to the songs back in her debut album, Farewell. There was a great addition of the acoustic guitar and a few beats playing in the background. The song itself gave me a great first impression of Tomiko Van’s future as a soloist.

I loved how the verses in Brave would always build up right before the chorus. This is definitely not B-side quality since I actually preferred this song over Flower.

Personal Rating: 4/5


FarewellArtist: Tomiko Van
Release Date: March 29, 2006
Label: Avex Trax
Personal Rating: 4/5

1. farewell
2. morning glory
3. Urara.
4. Essence
5. horoscope
6. complacence
7. Nue no Naku Yoru
9. Before Sunset
10. Hold Me…
11. A Dream is a Wish your Heart Makes
It’s interesting to see how Tomiko Van jumps into releasing a full-length album after disbanding with Do as Infinity.

Urara., Essence, complacence, and Nue no Naku Yoru were the more aggressive and upbeat songs. Like usual, all of the rock-orinted songs have the signature electric guitar and precussions that were used back in Tomiko’s Do as Infinity days. For this album, I thought that Tomiko’s strongest area were these four tracks.

farewell, morning glory, HOLY PLANET, Before Sunset, and Hold Me… area all generally mid-tempo but each of them contain different intrumental elements such as traditional Japanese intruments. My favorite of four tracks is morning glory since it contains a range of different jazz elements and its something new for Tomiko’s genre. (Which was formally rock and pop.)

horoscope and A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes were the slowest songs in the album. horoscope is the only original song since A Dream Is a Wish Your Heart Makes is a cover song from Disney’s Cinderella. I thought Tomiko did an impressive job with her English vocals here .

Personal Rating: 4/5