hellcatArtist: Kuroki Meisa
Release Date: April 8, 2009
Label: Studioseven Recordings
Personal Rating: 3.5/5

1. Hear the alarm?
2. Like This
3. Bad Girl
4. Criminal
5. No, no, no
6. SEX
7. Lost
I’ve actually listened to Kuroki Meisa’s music for about a few months already (thanks to Minna star), I was just too lazy to feature her on the site.

Followed by the strange but interesting instrumental segment that’s played at the beginning of Hear the alarm?, Meisa’s strong vocals come into the song, displaying her debut greatness. Unlike most artists, her vocals were smooth. The song is great-and-all at first but it gets a bit repetitive and boring after a while.

Like This has weird rapping at the start of the song with a messy arrangment. Her vocals may have the personality that most J-pop artists don’t give out but the instrumentals doesn’t really support it. I thought that the majority of the song sounded pretty random and annoying with all of the rapping.

The vocals in Bad Girl were just like they were in Hear the alarm? It becomes noticeable how Meisa sings with more energy during the chorus and her vocals tend to stand out more.

At least Criminal begins with awesome instrumentals! I have to admit that the instrumentals owned the song but a song with nmemorable vocals gives off a really bad after taste.

A personal favorite song from the album is No, no, no which has some cool jingles of some sort at the beginning. This time, Meisa’s vocals are supported by the arrangement and could easily transition from the lower to higher notes throughout the song.

SEX doesn’t come out as aggressive enough plus the arrangement does not clearly match with her vocals. Once again, there’s a random rapper that comes out of nowhere. (that’s getting really annoying.)

The least agressive song on the album is Lost since there wasn’t much going on. Meisa seems to be having trouble reaching some of the higher notes and her vocals performance wasn’t as good as usual.

THIS IS CRAZY is another dance track with distorted vocals. Unlike the vocals displayed in her other songs, THIS IS CRAZY lacks energy and personality.

Personal Rating: 3.5/5


Shock: Unmei

SHOCKArtist: Kuroki Meisa
Release Date: July 22, 2009
Label: Studioseven Recordings
Personal Rating: 3.5/5

1. Shock: Unmei
2. Wasted
3. Bad Girl (Bachlogic Remix)
4. Shock: Unmei (Instrumental)
I thought that the instrumentals in Shock: Unmei were cool, with the aggressive pop beats and fragements of classical parts being mended into the arrangement. And then all of the sudden, “ready for the shock.” I like how the energy of the song can really get the listener’s attention and get really addicting.

Waster was definitely a waster for the single. There’s not much going on and the arrangement doesn’t go well with Kuroki’s vocals. And it doesn’t hold a candle to Shock: Unmei. (Okay, maybe I over exaggerated there.)

Kuroki Meisa’s album, hellcat was released a few months before this release so the original version of Bad Girl could be found there. The Bad Girl (Bachlogic Remix) isn’t totally different from the original, the beats are the only “different” elements in the song.

Personal Rating: 3.5/5