Shinshoku Dolce

Shinshoku DolceArtist: Kanon Wakeshima
Release Date: February 18, 2009
Label: DefSTAR records
Personal Rating: 5/5

1. sweet ticket
2. Shinku no FATALISM
3. Kagami
4. still doll (album ver.)
5. Maboroshi
6. Annyui Kibun!
7. Suna no Oshiro
8. Monochrome frame
9. L’espoir -Mahou no Akai Ito-
10. Kuroi Torikago
11. skip turn step♪
12. Shiroi Kokoro
13. sweet dreams
The still doll (album ver.), Kuroi Torikago, Suna no Oshiro and skip turn step♪ were each released on their respective singles but all songs were given positively high ranks. (Duh, she could really sing and play!)

As the talented cello player she is, it was expected for tracks like sweet ticket and sweet dreams to appear as the interludes of the album.

Shinku no FATALISM, L’espoir -Mahou no Akai Ito- were fast paced with many gothic and dark elements that had a pinch of synch and beats which displays the different genres that Kanon had attempted to incoporate into her songs.

Kagami, Maboroshi and Monochrome frame takes the pace a little bit slower with even more darker elements but turns out to be an even more mysterious track with the cello playing darkly in the background. There were even some bells playing.

In contrast to some of her gothic songs, Annyui Kibun and Shiroi Kokoro seems to be the only non-scary song on the album. I personally preferred Shiroi Kokoro since the ballad really sounded elegant with the beautiful strings (mainly piano and cello) in the arrangement.

Some people may have rated Kanon’s debut album as average or okay but I thought that it was one of a kind! I’m pretty sure you know how I really LOVE Japanese ballads with string arrangements. The one element that really stands out in this album is the dark sound that I don’t hear from Japanese artists so very often so Kanon kind of introduced me to a different style than what I usually listen to.

Personal Rating: 5/5


Suna no Oshiro

Suna no OshiroArtist: Kanon Wakeshima
Release Date: November 12, 2008
Label: DefSTAR Records
Personal Rating: 4/5

1. Suna no Oshiro
2. skip turn step♪
3. Suna no Oshiro (Instrumental)
4. skip turn step♪ (Instrumental)
5. Suna no Oshiro ~Orgel Version~
I have a feeling that all Kanon Wakeshima reviews will be completed soon….like tomorrow…

Anyways, Suna no Oshiro is her second single but with a more faster tempo. (Yes, her mysterious voice is still there…) It has the same elements as still doll; everything sinister from instrumentals to vocals. Everything. The end sounded like someone got turned into ashes or something. Good song but I just wished she mixed up somethings so that it wouldn’t sound similar to her first single.

The title, skip turn step♪ sounds something so un-gothic that it took me by surprise. Instead of gothic oriented instrumentals and vocals, the B-side takes on the positive mood. Her vocals not only sing on the higher pitch but the cello supports her somewhat “bouncy” voice by being “bouncy” as well. The song was quite unexpected which really makes me want to listen to more Kanon releases since her genre range could be really high.

Is it just me or Halloween has just left the house?

Personal Rating: 4/5

still doll

still dollArtist: Kanon Wakeshima
Release Date: May 8, 2008
Label: DefSTAR Records
Personal Rating: 4.5/5

1. still doll
2. Kuroi Torikago
3. still doll (Orgel Version)
Note: For fans of the Vampire Knight anime/manga series, here’s a review dedicated for you! I’ve only read the manga but I also heard that the anime and its theme songs were pretty good so I went ahead and listened to Kanon Wakeshima’s debut album, still doll and got a bit of a good impression about it.

So to suit the vampire setting, still doll happens to be the culprit behind the; as said by a couple of friends, “the best anime opening theme of 2008!” I’m not sure if I could agree to that since I really haven’t watched many animes last year but I will most definitely agree that this is one damn sinister song! I mean, Kanon plays the cello so mysteriously; that the flow of the song and her creepy vocals really match!

The B-side, Kuroi Torikago still includes her awesome cello in it except with the new mixture of beats playing in the background. I thought she also did a cool job with the sinister vocals.

The still doll (Orgel Version) actually sounded more scary than the original track since it’s pretty much all instrumentals. It’s that rewinding part that’s creeping me out…

Well, since Halloween is coming, I won’t grade down this cool single just because of its strangeness. I really like Kanon’s music since there’s nothing random and she’s off to a really great start!

Personal Rating: 4.5/5