GossipArtist: Ayaka Ikio
Release Date: August 22, 2009
Label: Rainbow Entertainment
Personal Rating: 4.5/5

1. Get Out
2. Plastic Baby
3. Cat’s Free
5. Spider Web
6. Scream
7. Groove is Mine

Ikio’s debut mini-album didn’t sound so bad. Now that her second one has been released eight months later, let’s see what she has in store for us thie time.

Unlike in RE: Acid Queen, Gossip opens with Get Out but instead of the usual opening track, it’s a full length song. If you recall, the last few tracks of the last album sounded lazily done. Now that she’s back, Get Out was really impressive -both vocal and arrangement wise- and showed a ton of promise for the rest of the album. It’s pretty electro pop if you ask me but hey, it’s too hot to miss.

At least there’s no swearing in Plastic Baby. The song kicks the energetic mood higher, creating the best song on the album! Ikio’s vocals were definitely strong here since she doesn’t rely on the arrangement for the most part, and there’s not so much distortion going on.

Another very addicting song is Cat’s Free, which consists of great instrumental elements and some sort of special effects on the vocals. Although her voice is really distorted here and that it’s almost impossible to make out what’s she’s saying, the song was pretty much the definition of cool.

Apparently, ANARCHY IN THE UK is a cover song originally sung by sex pistols. I thought that the combination of electropop and rock sounded a little weird. Not to mention that the pitch and style of the vocals sounded a little strange. The trance instrumental suited the mood quite well, though.

Spider Web started off pretty strong. The instrumentals were great as always and they finally toned down the major distortions. I loved how the verses built up to the chorus while being less agressive at the same time.

At this point, Ikio’s songs usually get really lazy. Scream contradicts that statement really clearly as the elements begin to pick up from the agressive pace again. Distortions appear here and there but at least she could last without the distortions most of the time.

Finally, Groove is Mine sounds like a remix and her vocals do get a little lousy. Now it’s mostly the instrumentation that’s supporting song so the vocals didn’t stand out as much as they did in the past track. It’s a great way to end the album, though.

Personal Rating: 4.5/5

EDIT:// I edited the mistake on “anarchy in the US.” lol


RE: Acid Queen

RE: Acid QueenArtist: Ayaka Ikio
Release Date: January 14, 2009
Label: Rainbow Entertainment
Personal Rating: 3.5/5

1. RE:
2. Spin Me Round
3. Mess Up My Body
4. LoLLyPoP
5. Pain Killer
6. Spiral Storage
7. Spin Me Round (cargo REMIX)

I forgot to put Ayaka Ikio on the “upcoming list” but here she is! I started listening to her last week so I downloaded both of her mini albums and got a pretty positive impression from her instrumentals! And yes, you read the release date right, she started earlier this year!

RE: sounded pretty electrifying. There’s so much electronioca and that bit of the synch weaving within the awesome instrumentals. It’s pretty hard to hear what Ikio was saying but hey, that’s called the Power of the Instrumentals! Too bad it was just an opening track.

Just like the first track, Spin Me Round is another addicting track. During the whole song, there’s a chorus singing with a normal pitch compared to Ikio’s. I’ve gotta admit that her vocals sounded a little weird which gives me the impression that she relies on the instrumentals to make her songs have a nice effect. Hope she doesn’t rely on them for other songs!

Mess Up My Body has a similar arrangement as “Spin me Round” but with a total difference in the lyrics. There’s still that techno and electronica feeling to it but then there’s Ikio swearing in a way that it goes with the song.

LoLLyPoP sounds a bit more mature than the past songs. For the most part, the background sound doesn’t really match the awesomeness that was played in “Spin me Round.” There’s also more swearing when she sings and her English sounds a bit like Engrish.

Now Pain Killer turns the tide of the whole album and captivates the listener’s attention again! It still doesn’t beat the past tracks but Ikio’s vocals depends less on the instrumentals since this time, her singing was more into the song than the instrumental. (How should I say this- her instrumentals became “dull?”) Well, at least it’s still better than “LoLLyPoP.”

Finally, Spiral Storage is totally worth the listen! (Even though it STILL doesn’t beat “Spin me Round.”) There’s still the case where she depends on the instrumentals- which are catchy this time- and there’s still that “touch in to the song. But for some reason, Ikio’s vocals sounds a bit different in pitch. I thought that it was good for an ending track, though.

The Spin Me Round (cargo REMIX) makes the original sound even more powerful and memorable since this remix made it sound really weird.

Personal Rating: 3.5/5